Events hosted in the Lynn Valley Village plaza? What is on in Lynn Valley North Vancouver?

Weekly View
Sun. 11 Mar, 2018 - Sat. 17 Mar, 2018

Sunday, March 11, 2018

There are no events on this day.

Monday, March 12, 2018

English Spanish Language Exchange (1:00 pm - 2:30 pm)

Do you want to practice your new Spanish or English skills?

Join us to exchange languages, share and learn with native speakers of English and Spanish. This is a conversational meet-up and we will talk about cultural, community and current events at home and around the world. We will discuss the language similarities and differences.

You will appreciate our casual, organized, and courteous format. We encourage everyone to speak in the language they want to learn. Feedback on your efforts will be provided by our members who are native speakers of that language. All those interested in practicing their new English or Spanish skills are welcome!

Drop in! No registration required.

For more information contact:

Gail: gkilmer2011@hotmail.com (English) or Rocio: rocio_mejia@vanmex.com (Spanish)

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Mar 26 2018.
Monday, January 8, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, January 15, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, January 22, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, February 12, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, February 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, March 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm

Audience: Adults

Event Listings on nvdpl.ca

 

Ignite Your Metabolism - Dr Julie Durnan ND (7:00 pm - 8:30 pm)

RESTORE YOUR HEALTH is a FREE seminar series presented by the practitioners of Restoration Health Clinic that addresses the whole health of your family.

 

RESTORE YOUR HEALTH is a FREE seminar series presented by the practitioners of Restoration Health Clinic that addresses the whole health of your family. Meet our doctors, learn how to balance hormones, boost immune function, kick start your metabolism, gain energy, relieve stress, have a healthy pregnancy, and more.

Seats are limited so please contact us early to reserve your spot at info@restorationhealthclinic.caic.ca or 604-990-6963.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

StoryTales (10:30 am - 11:00 am)

Storytimes support & develop early literacy through singing, talking, reading, and playing.

StoryTales is for children aged 3-5 years old. No registration required. Drop in! Call 604-984-02486, ext. 8141.

Can't make this session? Join us at Parkgate or Capilano!

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week until Tue Mar 13 2018.
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am

Audience: Children

Event Listing on nvdpl.ca

 

English Conversation Circle (1:00 pm - 2:30 pm)

Come practice your English language skills in a fun group of other new speakers.

Meet new people, learn English, and have fun! This program is presented in partnership with the Baha'is of North Vancouver.

Drop in! No registration required.

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue May 29 2018.
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm

Audience: All Ages

 

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

ToddleTales (10:30 am - 11:00 am)

Storytimes support & develop early literacy through singing, talking, reading, and playing.

ToddleTales is for children aged 24-36 months. No registration required. Drop in! Call 604-984-0286, ext. 8141 for information.

Can't make this session? Join us at Capilano or Parkgate!

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week until Wed Mar 14 2018.
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:00am

Audience: Children

Event Listing on nvdpl.ca

 

Lynn Valley Wednesday Afternoon Book Club (2:30 pm - 3:30 pm)

Do you love to talk about what you’re reading? Want to try something new or read outside your comfort zone? Join the Books to Talk About Book Club to talk about books that spark discussion, curiosity and debate. If you’ve read the book...drop into a discussion! No registration is required. 

2017-2018 Schedule for the Lynn Valley Wednesday Afternoon Book Club 

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Wednesday, October 11

 2:30pm 

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Wednesday, November 8

 2:30pm

Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

Wednesday, December 13 

 2:30pm 

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

Wednesday, February 14

 2:30pm 

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Wednesday, March 14      

 2:30pm 

The Noise of Time by Julian Barnes

Wednesday, April 11 

 2:30pm 

The Party Wall by Catherine Leroux

Wednesday, May 9

 2:30pm 

 To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey

Wednesday, June 13

 2:30pm 

Copies of the first book will be available starting August 24. After that, books will be available after book club meetings in print format. All books are offered on a first-come, first-served basis. Copies of the books are also available in other formats, such as print, ebook, audiobooks, and more. Ask staff to help you find a copy!

Want to receive meeting reminders and information about the books via email?

Register here or call 604-984-0286, ext. 8144 to provide your email. 

A full schedule for all branches is available here.

Repeats on the 2nd Wednesday of the month in Oct., Nov., Dec. 2017 & Feb., Mar., Apr., May, & June 2018. No January meeting.

Location:  Lynn Valley 

Time: 

Repeats every month on February, March, April, May, June, October, November, December on the second Wednesday 8 times.
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm 

Audience: Adults

 

Paws 4 Stories (6:00 pm - 7:00 pm)

Thank you for your interest in Paws 4 Stories. Please note that this program is now full. Call 604-984-0286, ext. 8141 or visit the Lynn Valley Children’s Desk for more information or to be placed on a waiting list.

Come and read to Starr, the friendly Great Dane!

Paws 4 Stories is a St. John Ambulance Therapy Dog Community Service program that is designed to assist in helping to improve reading skills of children. In this program, children have the opportunity to read to a friendly, certified therapy dog. Reading to a therapy dog can be motivating and especially beneficial for children who are hesitant or anxious about reading.

Recommended for children ages 6 -12. Sessions are 20 minutes in length - children can sign up for a maximum of three sessions each.

Location: Lynn Valley
Time:
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 14 2018.
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Audience: Children

 

Rippling Sonnets: Open Mic Poetry Reading (6:30 pm - 8:30 pm)

You are invited to join us for an exciting evening of Open Mic Poetry Reading!

Learn how to write a Haiku, engage with an audience and get friendly feedback on your work. Raffle and refreshments will be provided! Open to both established and emerging writers. ALL AGE GROUPS WELCOME. Hosted by: Una Bruhns & Deborah L Kelly. Drop-ins welcome.

Drop in! No registration required.

Location: Lynn Valley
Time:
Repeats every month on the second Wednesday 5 times.
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Audience: Teens Adults

 

Thursday, March 15, 2018

BabyTales (10:00 am - 10:30 am)

Storytimes support & develop early literacy through singing, talking, reading, and playing. Join us!

BabyTales is for babies under 24 months old. No registration required.

Can't make this session? Join us at Capilano or Parkgate!

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 15 2018.
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 10:00am to 10:30am

Audience: Children

 

BabyTales (11:00 am - 11:30 am)

Storytimes support & develop early literacy through singing, talking, reading, and playing. Join us!

BabyTales is for babies under 24 months old. No registration required.

Can't make this session? We're also hosting BabyTales at Lynn Valley at 11:00am, or you can join us at Capilano or Parkgate!

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 15 2018.
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am
Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 11:00am to 11:30am

Audience: Children

 

World Affairs Forum: The Donbas (7:00 pm - 8:30 pm)

Whatever happened to the Donbas—the eastern portion of Ukraine that Russia semi-invaded? Life goes on, the Minsk Accord is virtually stillborn, and the whole issue has slipped onto the back pages of the newspapers. What will the final outcome look like: The Donbas still a part of Ukraine, absorbed by Russia, or still undecided? Come, discuss, and then vote.

Click register above or call 604-984-0286, ext. 8144 to secure your place.

Location: Lynn Valley
Time: Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Audience: Adults

Event listing on nvdpl.ca

 

Friday, March 16, 2018

Parent-Child Mother Goose® at Lynn Valley Care Centre (2:15 pm - 3:00 pm)

Join us for a special Parent-Child Mother Goose at Lynn Valley Care Centre (1070 Lynn Valley Road)!

Seniors from the Care Centre will be singing along with families in this special and unique partnership program.

The Parent-Child Mother Goose Program® is a fun group experience that introduces babies aged 0-12 months and their caregivers to the pleasure and power of using rhymes, songs and stories together. Parents and caregivers gain skills and confidence that enable them to create positive family patterns during their children’s crucial early years. Infants benefit from enjoyable, healthy early experiences with language and communication.

NOTE: Registration opens January 3. Space is limited. Register at the Children’s Desk or by phone: 604-984-0286, ext. 8141.

Brought to you by the NVDPL, North Shore Community Resources, in partnership with Lynn Valley Care Centre.

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Mar 16 2018.
Friday, January 12, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, January 19, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, January 26, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, February 2, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, February 23, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, March 2, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, March 9, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm
Friday, March 16, 2018 - 2:15pm to 3:00pm

Audience: Children

Event Listing on nvdpl.ca

 

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Family Stories and Fun (10:00 am - 11:00 am)

Stories, rhymes and songs for the whole family!

Children of all ages are invited to enjoy a Saturday morning of stories and fun at the library. Drop in!

Location: Lynn Valley

Time:
Repeats every week until Sat Mar 17 2018.
Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, January 27, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 3, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, February 24, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, March 3, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am 

Audience: Children

Event Listing on nvdpl.ca

 

Search Calendar